If you’ve spent some time on my blog, you’ve probably surmised by now that I’m a little obsessed with decoding the enigma that is the INTJ. Why? Simple answer is that I am one!

I’ve perused hundreds of articles already, coming across a lot of repetitive information. But like unique  snowflakes, not all perspectives are the same, and therefore I want to dive into the INTJ from my own unique perspective.

Here’s a tidbit I came across that immediately rang true for me:

INTJs feel let down if they waste time pursuing projects that have no future.

Just as I despise small talk because it’s essentially a waste of breath, I do despise impractical projects. It may seem as though I have a hundred different things I’m doing at one time (for instance, I’m studying Design of Experiments currently and making head way on this blog article at the same time), each activity I pursue I do have an end goal in mind for.

INTPs will pursue a subject or project simply to learn or to see if it makes sense. Not the INTJ. Even before I start a project, I want to know what the objective is and whether or not it even makes sense to pursue it.  If I pick a topic to study, I want to know how I can apply it in the real world – not simply study it for its own sake. It might be the Judging side of the INTJ, but practicality is always on my mind.

This blog is a testament. I don’t believe that by writing this blog I will have ever lasting fame or that my words will appeal to millions. I do believe that this blog will help me connect with like-minded individuals. I do believe that this blog will help me share what I’ve learned and what I find amusing with others. For me, these uses are enough motivation to keep writing. The projects don’t have to be grand.

I’ve always found marine life fascinating, but I’ve never studied it fully. However, two years ago I got it into my head to obtain a fish aquarium. That little idea turned into a project to design a fresh water aquarium ecosystem. I studied many blogs on fish aquariums, watched YouTube videos for tank ecosystem design ideas, researched different species of fish, and made a cost analysis of the required equipment.

However, the project was abandoned in the end because I just didn’t think my current lifestyle supported caring for fish. I’d have to clean the tank, feed the fish, figure out how to transport them when I moved to a different place, etc; It was too much. But while the end goal of building the ecosystem was a possibility, I pursued the project head on. The minute I realized it would never work, I dropped it like a bomb. Anyone else wouldn’t have spent so much time on this even if they were a 100% sure they wanted an aquarium!

When the project really does matter, no matter how long it takes the INTJ will pursue it patiently and diligently. I’ve wanted to be an author since I was 11 years old and I’ve been writing stories. However, it’s only in the last two years that I’ve written a story I didn’t end up scrapping.

I was 20 when I found my Voice and just in the last month I’ve come close to finishing my first novel (I have the last chapter left to write). And I know for a fact that I’m going to write no matter what – it’s now an integral part of my identity.

Another passion of mine is music. I’ve been playing the flute since I was 11 as well and I still practice. The first paycheck I ever got went into purchasing my own flute (which was close to a $1000) and I treasure the instrument as if it were my own limb. Like writing, music makes me who I am and I know 100% that I’m going to be a lifelong flute player.

So you see, the INTJ is a committed individual when it comes to something they really care about. This extends to work, life, hobbies, and relationships. If you’re an INTJ, can you relate? Do you know anyone who fits this description?

 

